tired of all The New Cars fans grumbling about various canceled tour dates and the conspiracy theories surrounding the band and their management, Elliot Easton speaks out (sort of) on their website messageboard. instead of clearing up the issues about the cancellations, Easton is vague and comes across a bit frustrated and defensive about the whole thing. here’s his message from the New Cars site:

Some of you have reacted to some of the cancellations as though this is some sort of act of betrayal on our part! This is insane. I KILLS us to see any of these shows cancelled. For you, it means the disappointment of perhaps not getting to see the band. For us it means a whole lot more, and a dissappointment that I cannot even put into words. I have put my heart and soul into this project, and NONE OF THIS CANCELLATION BULLSH*T HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH THE BAND!!! Don’t you think we want to play as many shows as possible???!!!??? I am not responsible for disseminating information to fans, but enough is enough. If you want to bear with us through this difficult and challenging period, that’s great and we certainly appreciate it. But if you give up on the band because of these cancellations, you are punishing the band (and as a fan, yourself) for something we have no control over. I will not be responding to any questions, and I don’t really care if you believe this is really me or not…….but it is, and I’m sticking my neck out to tell you all of this because I care and it troubles me to think that any of you would ever believe that any of this is our fault. If you don’t know by now that I LOVE to play, and didn’t even stop for a broken collarbone, then you haven’t really been paying attention.
Faithfully Yours,
EE

it’s sad really. it just sounds like a desperate musician trying to earn a honest living but the future just ain’t lookin’ so financially sound. from the looks of it his New Cars project has pretty much fizzled out and if I was Todd Rundgren, I would get out as fast as possible and hope that I didn’t do too much damage to my reputation by taking on this gig as Ric Ocasek’s replacement. it sounded like a messed up idea when the initial rumors first surfaced more than a year ago and sadly the first impression was spot on.

so catch them live while you still can. i’m pretty sure that you won’t be seeing Elliot, Greg, Todd, Prairie and Kasim together for much longer…

Fri 11/10/06 Jim Thorpe, PA Penn’s Peak
Sun 11/12/06 Peekskill, NY Paramount Center
Wed 11/15/06 Verona, NY Turning Stone Casino
Fri 11/17/06 Mashantucket, CT Foxwoods Casino
Sat 11/18/06 Atlantic City, NJ Borgata Hotel / Casino
Sun 11/19/06 Portland, ME Merrill Auditorium
Tue 11/21/06 Cleveland, OH House Of Blues
Wed 11/22/06 Detroit, MI State Theatre
Fri 11/24/06 Clear Lake, IA Surf Ballroom
Sat 11/25/06 Milwaukee, WI Riverside Theatre
Sun 11/26/06 Chicago, IL House Of Blues
Tue 11/28/06 Saint Ignace, MI Kewadin Shores Casino
Fri 12/01/06 Boulder, CO Boulder Theater
Sat 12/02/06 Rio Puerco, NM Route 66 Casino
Tue 12/05/06 West Hollywood, CA House Of Blues
Wed 12/06/06 West Hollywood, CA House Of Blues
Sat 12/09/06 Lake Tahoe, NV Harrah’s Tahoe
Sun 12/10/06 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore
Tue 12/12/06 Santa Rosa, CA Wells Fargo Ctr. For The Arts
Thu 12/14/06 Ventura, CA Majestic Ventura Theatre
Sat 12/16/06 Las Vegas, NV House Of Blues
Sun 12/17/06 Anaheim, CA House Of Blues